Skip to content

30 Day Song Challenge (1–5)

April 13, 2011

I saw this on facebook, and thought I’d take it to the blog! I’m excited to explore this music territory, and I’m hoping it will expand my tired playlist a bit, or at least challenge me to 🙂 I will post in batches of 5 throughout the month, updating the post same post each day.

30 Day Song Challenge
Day 5: A Song That Reminds You of Someone: Gloria Estefan “Rhthm Is Gonna Get You”

My childhood friend Dani (Daniela), her sister Erica and I spent hours dancing to the Gloria Estefan music videos (on tape) when I was little. This song always makes me think of her! I still love Gloria, and she often sneaks onto my mix-tapes.

Day 4: A Song That Makes You Sad: Marc Cohn “Strangers In A Car”

This was a tough one, because I really do have a thing for sad songs. My runner-ups: Great Big Sea “Boston and St. Johns” and Death Cab for Cutie “Transatlaticism.” Both are heartbreakers about love and the ache that comes with it. Having survived the long-distance relationship challenge, these really spoke to me. I guess I must be a masochist.

However, the song that gets me every time is “Strangers In a Car.” It is open to wide interpretation — do we ever really know someone? Are people who we think they are? People change, will you still love them? Are you going down the path to sadness and regret, or pushing through a struggle with happiness at the end?

*This song must be on lock-down, I can’t find anything but covers on the internet, which frankly aren’t good enough. Sorry folks!
Day 3: A Song That Makes You Happy: Bob Marley & The Wailers “Three Little Birds”

I read this as, A Song That MAKES You Happy. When I’m having a bad day, I listen to this song – my foot starts tapping, everything falls into perspective, and by the end of the song I’m smiling.

Day 2: Your Least Favorite Song: Staind “It’s Been Awhile”

Maybe not my least favorite of all time, but it’s just so whiny. I always have an automatic change-the-station-reflex when I hear it come on. I can handle his voice in the other songs by Staind, but not this one.

Day 1: My Favorite Song: The Eagles “Hotel California”

Origin: Summer 1995. Hurricane Felix pushed my family and I out of our beach house and the mass exodus of everyone in the outer banks (NC) flooded nearby VA and NC mainland. We were forced to drive all the way to Williamsburg, VA to find a hotel room. We found the ONLY hotel room left in the city, passed by others because of the leaky air conditioner. The trip to Williamsburg took a very long time (8 hours) because we were in traffic the entire way. My oldest brother lent me his Walkman and I listened to his tapes on repeat. I had never heard Hotel California, and listened to it until I knew all the words. Though it sounds like a terrible memory, we actually became a lot closer during that trip (spending hours in a hotel room together will do that to you, since it was a downpour outside.) To this day, I can’t stand the acoustic version, and it is the only song where I like the long instrumental jam. I can sing all the intricacies of the instrumentals, which I’m sure drives my friends nuts.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

