Skip to content

30 Day Song Challenge (6–10)

April 18, 2011

Day 10: A Song That Makes You Fall Asleep: Citizen Cope “D’Artagnan’s Theme”

One of my favorite artists. This song is a nice, relaxing lullaby.
https://sewallis.wordpress.com/wp-admin/edit.php

Day 9: A Song That You Can Dance To: Jamiroquai “Canned Heat”

Ummmm how could you NOT dance to this song?

Day 8: A Song That You Know All the Words To: The Format “The First Single (Cause A Scene)”

First and foremost, this is their music, but the video is from Blur’s “Coffee & TV.” This song made me fall in love with The Format. When I listen to this song, I always get caught up in how poetic it is. The lyrics are phenomenal, but this line that speaks to me the most

“I could stand to do without all the people I have left behind, what’s the point in going around when its a straight line, baby, a straight line down.”

I believe it means, let go of the garbage in your life and the people who drag you down, and move on. Although bittersweet, I found it enlightening. Give it a listen, let me know what you think. I can and have listened to it on repeat, and hold onto a different gem each time.

Day 7: A Song That Reminds You of a Certain Event: Beck “Missing”

The only Spring Break I ever took, sailing the Keys with a bunch of friends. It was epic. Someone had a bootleg copy of the Guero Album, and we played it on loop. Everyone should be required to sail around the Florida Keys for a week.

Day 6: A Song That Reminds You of Somewhere: Buddy Holly “Everyday”

When I was little and lived in Minnesota, we used to vacation at the Boundary Waters. This song makes me think of riding back and forth, and really remember all the things we did there – fishing with my dad, sitting in the middle of the canoe as my brothers and I stalked a loon, finding caterpillars on the muddy trails, and playing the card game spoon.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

