Skip to content

30 Day Song Challenge (21–25)

May 6, 2011

Day 25: A Song That Makes You Laugh: Kermit the From/Sesame Street “African Alphabet”

I laugh, but also, this is an amazing song & I want to include it. I love how it comes together.

Day 24: A Song That You Want to Play at Your Funeral: Louis Prima “Pennies From Heaven”


I decided to go with, kick-ass Louis Prima. Happiness, dancing, let the party begin. I envision a big band playing, some pulled pork barbeque, and lots of dancing. In general, I found this entry especially challenging. For the 30-Day challenge, I’ve worked on my entire list ahead of time, and this was one day I’ve been unable to figure out until today. Essentially — what do you want to be your last impression on all your loved ones? Talk about pressure.

Some runner-ups:
Jackie Wilson’s “Higher and Higher”

This was another happy, celebration song, I envisioned with a full-on choir singing in the stands… but the message was a bit off. Specifically: “And now with my loving arms around you, honey, I can stand up and face the world!” (ummmm….)

Rascal Flatts “My Wish”

Love this song, but it was very much like doling advice to those I’m leaving behind. Super sad. And a little full of myself?

Kermit’s “The Rainbow Connection”

sad sad sad.

Also, Simon and Garfunkel’s “The Boxer” is awesome, and has that part where you can just unleash your emotion and let out all those tears, but again, not what I was going for. Also, the strife and struggle of the life of a Boxer doesn’t particularly relate to me.

Day 23: A Song That You Want to Play at Your Wedding: The Turtles “So Happy Together”

I can totally imagine everyone dancing, and when the chorus comes up going crazy. The words are super easy to sing along with, older people will recognize it, and its just so happy.

When you’re with me, baby, the sky will be blue for all my life!

Day 22: A Song That You Listen to When You’re Sad: Death Cab for Cutie “Transatlanticism”

In the span of my relationship when Tim lived in RI, and I was in D.C. (a few years ago), I’d listen to this song. Because being apart sucks.

Those people were overjoyed; they took to their boats.
I thought it less like a lake and more like a moat.
The rhythm of my footsteps crossing flatlands to your door have been silenced forever more.
The distance is quite simply much too far for me to row
It seems farther than ever before
Oh no.

I need you so much closer

F*ck. This is a sad song.

Day 21: A Song That You Listen to When You’re Happy: U2 “Where the Streets Have No Name”

I feel like I’m standing on a mountain, with only positive things in my future. Doesn’t it just make you grin like a fool?
There is a bunch of junk leading up to the song, it ramps up around 2:00

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

